“This is what Change looks like”


This phrase was spoken last night not only by the president but by the Rev. Al Sharpton and every other American in this country with their hand out. Is this the end of a hard working American culture? Or the beggining of a more European way of living? Rev. Al Sharpton was absolutly correct, “This is what we voted for,” Really? Did we vote for a hyper partisan cram session? What is America, or more approptiatly what will it be in this century?
Decisision that are made today affect this country 50 years from now when our kids and grand kids are the ones asking the same questions as above. When I talked to my grandmother this morning she was crying. See her husband died in WWII at Pearl Harbor. Every generation in our family has some military service in it. I was shot in Iraq and wounded thus not completeing a career in the military as my father before me. So as a family that doesnt know anything but support for this country and our flag, we sit now and wonder what has happend? As Americans have we decided we want to be like Europe? or Canada? As Americans have we decided it’s okay to stand there with our hand out instead of picking up a shovel and helping our neighbor? This country was formed and founded on the backs of Americans that didnt want a handout. They just wanted a fair shake. Give them a chance at the “American Dream”
I listned as our president used those words last night mentioning that this was “Enabling Americans to continue pursuit of the American Dream.” So please tell me when this dream changed from having the chance to work my way up, or better yet earn my way up the ladder? How about bust my tail until I can afford to buy my first house? Now our dream is stand there with our hand out? I have to say I’m a little disgusted with the amount of Americans who are not willing to work for what they get. Perhaps you should look up the meaning of the word entitlement, then please tell me where in this countries constitution it states where we as people are entitled to health care, or social security. Perhaps it says in there that were all entitled to a job? Nope, you wont find that in there either.
So yes this is what change looks like, do we as Americans have to settle for this? NO! Stand up for your kids, ask yourself if you want to leave your children a better country than you recieved. Then go vote on that. Ask yourself if you want you kids to grow up not understanding how to earn a living. Then go vote for that. Ask yourself if your okay with you children standing in line to recieve health care or a pay check from the government instead of their boss. Then go vote that. Do we see a pattern here? Hopefully you do because I do, I’m not ready to give up on this country just yet. This is the United States of America, not Europe and not Canada. So get up off that chair and do something about it!

Leave a Reply

