What do you really think?


Today was to be a lazy day, a day that I was going to catch up on some of my sporting for instance the Cavaliers. The basketball team from Cleveland that has a good shot a title this year. The problem is without knowing I got my account suspended to their forum site called Cavfanaitc.com. I have to say I remember people being much nicer in the past, this site has nothing on a site like ESPN or even Cavs.com. The problem is the moderators or my issue was with one that we will call Joe, I started by posting something that I wanted to talk about a discussion forum where the Magic were having the same discussion about a playoff matchup with the Cavs. This was quickly locked, so I posted another thread asking why. This was when things got a bit out of hand, see instead of the moderator Joe posting and telling me something interesting like that the site had an Instant message piece or what they call a PM (Personal Message) He continued to block or lock my threads. Since nobody was explaining anything this moderator (Joe) and I continued for a couple more threads until another person explained to me what Trolls were and yet another about the PM (Personal Message). By this time it was too late, Joe had already suspended my account and completely locked me out of the network. One last thing it would have been great if there was someone after the suspension to discuss this with, however there is no webmaster available and no way to contact anyone from the site. At least none I could find.

 Now my issue is not with the site, I love the site becuase it allows me to keep up with the only winning team in Cleveland. My issue is with the moderator Joe who didnt even bother to discuss or try to show me what I was doing wrong but instead this is his quote: 

 “I am a moderator on this site.
I do not have the time or interest to converse with you on skype about your inability to get a clue and not be an endless annoyance                  here. You need to read the rules of the site, which you apparently have not done.
If you have a problem with the way the site is managed you send a PM to the site administrator and express your concerns.  He is called Admin here.  Here is where you send Admin a PM:
I will paste it in a moment and then lock this thread.  Do not start another one on this nonsense.  This is the last warning you will receive on it.”

Note that he states he doesnt have time to deal with me even when I offered up my contact information in an attempt to sort out the issue. To me this shows an arrogance that is not becoming of us here in this country. When did we stop helping, or caring? I can admit I did not read the stuff he mentioned as I’m sure about 10% of the actual people that join those sites actually do read they simply check the box that they agree and move on. For this I do appologize and wish now that I would have, however after going back and reading these terms and conditions nowhere do they describe what a ‘Troll’ or ‘Flaming’ is. My hope is that at some point in time I will be able to follow my team on the forums again, however if not perhaps I will start my own.

Leave a comment